Going to California…


We, as humans, often go out of our way to make a better life for ourselves.  For some, this can be achieved by getting a good education.  Maybe, this can be possible by working real hard.  Either way, one would not be wrong.  However, most equate a better life with material object.  The path of the righteous man is beset by the series of BMW that man/woman drives.  Not a BMW person, then the Mercedes will work.

This is who and what we are.  It is not entirely our fault.  It is the fault of the baby boomers who control the purse strings of the economy, but that is neither here or there.  The fact remains that we must do what makes us happy.  For me, it is going to California.

I have often wondered what it would be like to live in Southern California.  The only reference  I have about life in California is from television and the movies.  I do not know anyone from California, nor did I ever go there.  However, something was telling me to go.  The first time I heard that voice it was in 1994, but it was quickly extinguished.  Mostly by my concerned family.  I decided not to go, and life went on.

The second time I had the urge to go was when I sold my house in 2004, but once again family took precedent.  Life continued on, but the same bitter me was in existence.

It is hard to describe the feeling of not pursuing your dream.  I know that deep down there is a reason for my existence, and the answers can be in California.  Then again, maybe not.  There is only one way to find out, and that is to go.  2010 is the time that I will go.  I decided to set aside all the excuses that I made previously.  I have sold off my possessions, and I have thrown away others.  I have said my goodbyes and I have prepared the route.

This is it! This will be fun, and I will accept no less.

