Getting ready to leave


For years now, I have wished to live in sunny California.  I have finally decided to make the change, and in 10 more days I will make the leap.  I will officially start my quest, over to the west coast.  Final destination will be Los Angeles.  Originally, I planned to go to L.A. then on the advice of a friend decided to go to San Diego.  But decided to go back to the original destination–Los Angeles!

I will embark on a cross-country drive that will call every ounce of energy in my body, but it will also need motivation and determination.  In the end, I have made the right decision.  This is my life, but many in my family disagree.  My grandmother is one of them.

I love my grandmother.  She has always been there for me, and she is the epitome of what it means to posses unconditional love.  Now that I have 10 more days until I leave, she is constantly calling me.  She is wondering if I am alright.  She is asking if I have a job out there.  I try to comfort her by saying “yes” to anything she asks.  However, when she offers me money I say “NO!”

I have lived in Rhode Island for 37 years.  I have relied on myself, solely, for close to half of those years.  If I ever needed help I could always count on my family to pull me through, however.  And living in such a small State everything is within a short driving distance.

California is a lot different.  The State is rather large.  My family will be far away, and it will be very expensive to go back and forth.  This is what I want to do.  This is the thing that I have to do.  I am positive that everything will work out, and I am positive that I will make new friends.

This can happen to you.  If you ever feel down and out.  Feel like you need a change–then “just do it”.  Time for excuses are over.  If you are depressed, lonely, down and out–leave.

Shakespeare wrote a passage in “Macbeth” about life, that says it best.  He wrote

“To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,
Creeps in this petty pace from day-to-day
To the last syllable of recorded time,
And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!
Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
And then is heard no more: it is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing.”

This is something that should be studied. I will translate it at another time.  For now, I need to get back to packing.

One thought on “Getting ready to leave

Comments are closed.