Cross country road trip…day 1


What a day..what a day.  As many of you know I have decided to move to California, from Rhode Island.  This has been something I have wanted to do for a very long time, and I wanted to make the 3,000 mile drive.  However, I really had no idea how hard it really is…especially in the rain.

I left Rhode Island at 11 a.m, under heavy clouds and light rain.  The back seat was filled almost to the roof with stuff, and I only had four inches to see out of.  I proceeded to drive, and one hour into it I noticed my car temperature was a little on the high side.  I decided to shed some weight.  I located a clothes drop box and donated a whole suitcase full of my clothes.

Hey, if I’m going to California to make a fresh start–I need to buy some new clothes.

What a relief.  I made a 12 inch opening out the back window.  Now, I can see! I made it the whole way through CT, NY and NJ.  Once in PA, it was 300 miles to the border in Ohio.  I made it to PA around 5 p.m.  I was planning on driving for another 5 hours, but the rain came down hard.  I almost hydroplane three times.  So, it pained me–but I had to stop.  I checked into the Red Roof Inn, and I have to say it was a nice Motel.  The nightly rate is $48.00.

I plan on getting at least 10 hours sleep tonight, and I will hit the road hard at 6 a.m.  I’ll finish the 3 hour drive into Ohio, and hope to make it to Indiana.

Oh, I had no idea the toll that the hills and the mountains affect my car.  Whoa Nelly.

One thought on “Cross country road trip…day 1

  1. Hi there!

    My name is Meagan and I work for the Red Roof Inn Corporate office. I am very happy to hear your stay with us was great. Please drive safe to California and think of Red Roof Inn when you need a comfortable and affordable stay. Should you need anything during your drive, please email me or call me.

    Thank you!
    Meagan
    614.744.2606
    smedia@redroof.com

Comments are closed.