Road trip…day 3


The start of day 3 was horrible.  Actually, the end of day two was horrible.  The end of day two, totally exhausted after a 17 hour drive, I needed to find a hotel to stay in.  I landed in Weatherford, Oklahoma.  It is the western part of the State.  The city is robust with construction projects that can probably be attributed to the stimulus package that was signed into law last year.  I pulled up to a Best Western, but it was packed.  There had to be at least 30-40 construction workers checked into the hotel.  I stepped out of the lobby and looked across the street.  I saw Scottish Inns.  It didn’t look packed, so I went to the office, rang the bell and was greeted by a Pakistani guy.  I told him I needed a room, and he charged me the fifty dollars.  He gave me a key and I was on my way.  I was shocked when I opened the door.  The room was disgusting, and it smelled.  The smell wasn’t an odorous smell, but rather a clever attempt to disguise the smell with a heavy dose of Lysol.  I just thought to myself that I would only spend 8 hours here, and soon it will be just a fleeted piece in my memory.

I brought in my stuff, and I tried to connect to the internet.  Surprise!!…no wifi access.  However, this was the only hotel on my journey that carried MSNBC.  I got a chance to watch “Countdown with Keith Olbermann”, but it was with Lawrence O’Donnell.  So, I went to bed.

Departed the “lovely” Scottish Inns at 3 a.m.  It was raining out, but not as bad as the first night of my journey.  I drove for an hour, and made it into Texas.  Once I made it into Amarillo I noticed at least an inch of snow on the ground.  Cars and trucks that were travelling east bound were covered in snow.  I wasn’t really too impressed with Northern Texas.

I was really excited when I hit New Mexico.  The mountains were truly majestic.  The rain cleared up, and it was sunny.  I just drove and drove.  Once I hit Albuquerque, the problems started.  It was a several thousand feet climb up the mountains.  My Corolla was not hearing it.  The car was close to overheating a couple of times.  I pulled over, often, at rest stops.  I checked and topped off my fluids, and all was good.  I just kept driving to make up for lost time.  It was weird, the closer I was getting to California the more I wanted to keep driving.

I saw the signs for Arizona.  I knew right then that I had to stop in Arizona, but my GPS said that I was eight hours from my destination.  I had to make a decision.  Should I just decide to drive all the way, or call it a night.  My body lost the fight, so I checked into the Best Western in Holbrook, Arizona.  I was so excited to see that I was eight hours from my final destination.

