Road trip…day 4 The final day


The day started at 4 am, and I was a bit worried.  There was a high wind warning for the Flagstaff area.  Winds that would exceed 40 mph.  Usually, weatherman are wrong–however–this time they were right.

I encountered the worst wind I’ve ever experienced, and I was climbing a mountain.  Also, did I mention I had two mountain bikes strapped to the back of my car?  The speed limit was 75, but I had trouble trying to push 40.  But I came up with a great idea.  When a truck passed by me I immediately tucked behind him.  This actually worked.  The Semi was blocking most of the wind from me, and I was able to drive up to speed.  I did this for a 150 miles until the wind died down.  I passed through the Hoover Dam, and once I reached Kingman, Arizona I knew that I was close to the Grand Canyon.

I really wanted to visit Grand Canyon, but i really wanted to reach my destination.  I just had this mental drive to make it to Southern California by 2 p.m.  After several hours, I reached California.  It was such a nice site to see the “Welcome to California” sign.  Once on the border, all travelers were forced to pull into a checkpoint.  I was greeted by a forest services agent and was asked a few simple questions.  I answered them, and I was on my way with no event.  It was weird to see snow-capped mountains in California.  That is not something that this person from the east coast would think of as happening in Southern California.

The exciting part was a section of I-15S when there was a steep 4,000 foot drop.  The road was winding and very nice to travel.  The trip was really good.  I urge everyone to take on the open road.  Sadly, many people do not do it.  On my journey I saw thousands of Semi-trucks.  This leads me to believe that truckers are truly the ones that are responsible for fueling this economy.  They deliver most of the goods and services we consume, and along the way there are service stations, restaurants and hotels that thrive on their business.  My journey has taken me through Interstates 95, 287, 84, 80, 76, 44, 40, 15 and probably many more that I have not mentioned.  What was similar with all these roads is that they were primarily deserted two lane highways, many of which are covered with large farms and billboards.  Billboards, billboards, billboards are what line up this Countries Interstates.  There were so many to count, but i took some pictures.

This was truly an experience that hopefully I can experience just this once.  I wish I could offer more detail on my journey, but I’ll probably reserve it for a book.

