I hate California


I’m living  in Van Nuys, CA.  Yesterday made the one month mark, and I love it.  It is a total change from Rhode Island.  The weather is great.  The women are pretty.  The people of Southern California are diverse, and there is never anything that you can not do here.  In fact, I’m having so much fun that I don’t care if I get stuck in a one hour traffic jam on Interstate 10.

Why is it, when asked, there is always someone who feels the need to say they dislike California? No, I take it back, they hate California.  These people are not ashamed either.  They bring up the smog, the smell of piss in the air, homeless people, smog, earthquakes, traffic, rude people, plastic faces, smog, fake people…I can beat this horse for days, but I’m pressed for time.

I had a person, on Facebook,  ask for my opinion on how I liked living in California.  I gave her the same opinion that is expressed in my preview statement.

Cue the peanut gallery

Her friends decided to chime in.  One guy from South Carolina put his two cents in and said, “That place sucked.  I hope that fucking State sinks into the ocean.  The people are whacked.  The taxes are high.  You have any idea how hard it is to find parking? I’m glad I moved from there, and don’t get me going with those long lines at the D.M.V.”

The comment that this person expressed can be attributed to most States in the country.  For me, I would think he was talking about Rhode Island.  So, what is the real deal?

I believe that when people get locked down with working, paying bills, finding extra income, coupled with trying to devote time to the family–it leads to bitterness.

Nothing is worse to an individual than getting older.

Setting aside all the visuals that are associated with getting older (wrinkles, baldness, age spots), there are other sinister things going on.  One thing is we reflect more.  We use more words like, “If only…” or “Why did I ever..”

Hey, these are the cards we were dealt, and life’s events might be miserable to us on occasion.  But, I can guarantee that there is someone out there that will trade places with you in a heart beat.

It is alright to envy the guy who drives around a 2010 Enzo Ferrari, but I bet he can be looking at you driving your 1989 Toyota Corolla and wishing he could have your stress-free life.  Well, I doubt that but you get the idea.

So, the next time you hear someone say they hate California…tell them to STFU.

2 thoughts on “I hate California

  1. Sir Shaggie, you rock! The haters, only hate themselves. Californa could be a better place if more people were politically mindful, though.

Comments are closed.