L.A. vs. The Valley


Everyone knows how happy I am living in Southern California.  More specifically, I live in Lake Balboa.  Lake Balboa is in Van Nuys, and Van Nuys is located in the San Fernando Valley.  The locals just call it “the valley”.  Traditionally, it is 10-15 degrees hotter here than Los Angeles.  As much as I love it here, could it be possible that Los Angeles residents frown on people from “the valley”?

On the weekends, I love to take in the sites.  I venture out to Malibu, Downtown Los Angeles, Venice Beach and any other place that sparks my interest and attention.  Last week, I went to Hollywood and Vine.  I decided to take in a coffee shop, and I talked to a few people who picked up on my New England accent.  This girl, Karen, thought I was from New York or Boston.  I told her I was from Rhode Island.  We sat down and quickly took to an interesting conversation.

I asked her where she was from, and she quickly replied “West L.A.”.  I then told her that when I was gathering information on places to live in SoCal, West L.A. was highly recommended.  She then asked, “Oh, so you live in West L.A. too?”.  I told her no, and that I live in Van Nuys.  What she did next was interesting.  She put her head down, rolled her eyes, and with a puff of her breath said, “oh..the valley”.  Am I to take this as an insult?

I recall a time, a couple of weeks ago, when I was watching “Millionaire Matchmaker”, the hit tv show on Bravo.  Patti Stanger had to meet one of her clients at the Van Nuys Airport.  She told her assistant, “Oh God, I’m not going to the valley”.

I just don’t get it.  The weather is good, there is less traffic and the rents are reasonable.  So, my question to you is this; what’s wrong with living in the valley?

