Life is existence, nothing but existing


I’m not sure where I heard the quote “Life is existence, nothing but existing”, but I have been fascinated by it for years.  I think I got the quote from a song, perhaps a Jimi Hendrix song.  I was so fond of this quote, that I used it in my High School yearbook.  That was a long time ago.

Life is existence, nothing but existing doesn’t say that life is sacred.  Life is existence, nothing but existing doesn’t imply that we must get married and procreate. Life is existence, nothing but existing doesn’t state that we must make the most out of all the opportunities given to us since birth. Life is existence, nothing but existing doesn’t say that we should treat others the way we would like to be treated. Life is existence, nothing but existing doesn’t say that all men are created equal. Life is existence, nothing but existing doesn’t say that we should lie to get the job we want.  And Life is existence, nothing but existing doesn’t mean that we should go around acting like assholes just because we can.  But life is existence, nothing but existing does mean exactly what it says; Life is existence, nothing but existing. Life is existence, nothing but existing doesn’t mean or it doesn’t give the right for someone to shove their religion down my throat.  However, Life is existence  nothing but existing doesn’t mean that I am an idiot to believe in a higher power.

Take it how you like, but it just means that. Life is existence, nothing but existing. However, the point of life has been often misunderstood.  It doesn’t mean that I’m necessarily stoned, just beautiful.  Now stick that in your pipe and smoke it.

