To be…or not to be.


I’ve been called many things, but never the things that are important.  I have never been called Firefighter, Doctor, Lawyer, Musician or a Fighter Pilot.  I was called a Sailor, when I was in the Navy, but big deal.  That is nothing special.  Then again, try telling that to the person who made to decision to be a “lifer”.  I’m not looking for pity.  I decided to pursue college later in life, and I am still working on that 4 year degree.  For so long, I had no clue what I wanted to do with my life.  Honestly, I still don’t know what I want to do.  It is so easy for me to be envious of the person that I went to high school with.  The person who went on to college, got married, had kids and is pulling in a six-figure salary.  They could probably be thinking that I am a flaming homosexual for being 38 years old with no kids.  I am not gay, and I’m not responsible enough to have kids.

Have you ever been driving in your car, and see a flashy sports car driving by?  Perhaps, it could be your dream car.  Have you ever thought what it would be like–to be that person for a day.  Perhaps, you would like to  be living in their house, working in their job.  Maybe that person is a Lawyer, a Doctor, or a Fighter Pilot.  Well, I highly doubt a Fighter Pilot would be driving a Ferrari 575M.  But, with a perfect credit score anything is possible.

What if that person would give anything just to live a normal life?  They see you driving in your Toyota Tercel and say, “Man, I would give up my house in Malibu and my Lamborghini just so I can live like that guy.  I bet he has no stress.”

That is highly NOT likely to happen, but with so many crazy people in this Country…anything is possible.

We tend to go for the job that matches our experience.  Today’s economy is tough for people to make a living doing something they love, but many people risk short-term financial stability for the dream.

To some people, the pursuit of the dream is better than living the dream.  They are hungry.  They are willing to do anything to be the person they envision.  One can only imagine the amount of discipline that a person must have to do that.  Tiger Woods isn’t a great golfer by accident.  He put in thousands of hours of practice, and thousands of dollars in greens fees, clubs, shoes, etc.  Do you have what it takes to be Tiger Woods, or is it easier to not be Tiger Woods.  Not to have the ability to go for a walk in the park without being hounded by dozens of annoying photographers.  Photographers are simply doing their job.  Most of them probably love their job.  It affords them the ability to buy my dream car.  That is fine, because I simply choose to be me.

One thought on “To be…or not to be.

  1. I have lived close to those neighborhoods that are full of $2 million dollar mansions. Rows and rows of multi million dollar homes, and I always wonder…what do those ppl do to be able to afford a 7 thousand dollar a month house payment? And not just one of them, a whole GD neighborhood full of them. Are they doctors? CEO’s? Lawyers?
    In Texas, those professions make that kind of money. But not here in Mississippi. Lawyers & doctors aren’t SUPER RICH here like they are in big cities. Our doctors here are contract doctors for River Region corp, our local hospital system and have shitty little contracts where they get paid between $400k and $700k a year. For you and me, that’s a lot of money, but to be a doctor, that’s not alot of money.
    I knew some folks one time who had a $4,000 a month house payment and the wife sat home all alone, all the time, while her husband ran his compnay and spent about 120 hours a week working. Then when he was off he would golf alot with his bussies. It was like she was single. I didn’t envy her life at all. I think that is more common than we know. To be able to run a massive money making compnay you have to live it and breath it. 24/7. You don’t work to live, you live to work and it becomes your whole life. I would never want that. Even for the massive buckets of money that come with it.
    Fortunately my husband has a fantastic job making alot of money being a Captain of a ship. He is only 33 and has made more than 6 figures for the last 7 years. I know ppl with college degrees who don’t make as much money as he does. But he is GONE all the time. He works 2 weeks then comes home for 7 days and leaves again. I am raising my kids alone basically. He provides a good living, but just gets to come home to visit his life. There is a price for everything.

Comments are closed.