Omar Thornton


By now, everyone knows the name. Just another disgruntled employee who decided to take matters in his own hands. This tragedy is not unique. America has seen an increase in violence–year after year. It’s my opinion that it’s just going to get worse. The sad thing is that every time someone commits a crime like this, that gets national press, it just emboldens the next batch of people who want to exact justice. The time between this attack and the next attack might be long. But, it just means that the suspect(s) are just saving their money for guns and ammo.
We live in a society that thrives for celebrity, but not put in the hard work and preparation to achieve it. However, hard work is not necessary anymore. There are a countless number of people who have “made” it. Many of the truly successful people in our society had to have stepped on people. Many of which they had relationships with.
The incident with Thornton isn’t any different than the shooters at Columbine, the assault on the campus of Virginia Tech, or even the Ft. Hood shooting in Texas. The people who committed these attacks were outcasts. No matter how hard they tried–they could never fit in. It’s not an excuse to commit multiple murders. It is a test of Newton’s Third Law of Motion. “For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.” Sure, we should try to solve our problems with civility. But, if the force you are up against lacks civility, and is full of hate–what? What are you suppose to do? Use the legal system?
As a black man, I experienced the same racist people that Omar did. I worked as a summer temp for Pepsi Cola in Cranston, R.I. The job was great. It was the first time that I made over $10 an hour. I got the job from a friend of mine. His mother worked in Human Resources.
After my first full day of work I quickly realized that I was the only black guy who worked there. How could that be? A company that employees over 300 employees, and I’m the only one of color? It was a custom for the summer temps to work six months, and at the end of the six months a few temps would get hired permanently. I had a hard time the first month. My supervisor, Jenn, really had it out for me. The funny thing is that I didn’t do anything to provoke the hate she had for me, and it was hate. One day I entered work I tried to find my timecard to punch in. It wasn’t on the rack, and when I asked Jenn where it was she informed me that I was laid-off for the week. I was so hurt. This was my life. Working at Pepsi was my life. I was reduced to a pathetic piece of crap, but I received a call from the third shift supervisor, Steve. Steve was a really cool guy, an older guy. He called to tell me that I could come back to work, and on the same shift. He also told me that Jenn would be off for the week. Her father died.
At the end of the six months I learned to work every machine. I worked twenty hours overtime a week. I never called in sick, and was surprised to find out that I wasn’t one of the chosen ones to be hired. They went a different direction. I was bummed out, bitter and a bit bruised. But, I never wanted to go in to the plant and kill them. I believe in Karma. You get what you give, but then there are some people that don’t feel like waiting for Karma to do what it does so well.
We have to realize that time is man made. The universe has no time, and what ever time we have on the Earth is insignificant when compared to the time that we will spend in the afterlife. If there is such a thing, but I’m not going to gamble on that!

5 thoughts on “Omar Thornton

  1. I am so out of touch with current events I don’t know who this Omar guy is. I dont watch the news. I haven’t heard about it on Twitter. The only things I watch are dvd movies or shows I have DVR’d then I FF through the commercials. So I have no clue what the story is. I take it from your blog post that he is someone who killed some of his former co-workers.

  2. he is just another low life thief and murderer. his family should be ashamed instead of their faces all over the news trying to justify his sick actions….the apple does not fall far from the tree!

  3. I read your story and I am so sorry that happened to you, and you were discriminated against. On the topic of Omar Thornton, though, he was recently promoted to driver, after being there only a year. He recieved the same treatment everyone in a union recieves, waiting for senority workers who have first dibs on jobs, then getting promoted. He was a thief, caught stealing beer and selling it out of his vehicle. He was probably a person who never fit in anywhere, and started blaming his race as the cause, and it turned into a dillusion. He was a sick individual. I live in Manchester, CT and am still shocked and saddened by this event. Our town will never be the same, because some guy with social issues decided to take his anger out on the world. so sad. I enjoyed your article, though, and how you are the FIRST one I have read that hasn’t used race as the ONLY reason why Omar Thornton killed those people. Thank you for addressing the fact that he was an outcast, not due to his race, but because he just was. Thanks! I’m sick of the news making Manchester look like a all white-backwards town, we are a melting pot, a multi-cultural ethnic town, just outside of Hartford. But they way CNN is talking, we might as well be back in the south in the 1800’s. Thanks for your insight!

Comments are closed.