Are We There Yet?


I spend a bulk of my time thinking about all the technological advances that people have today. The average smartphone has more computing power than all the computers used in the Apollo space program that put men on the Moon. All that information and computing power, and people use their smartphones to check Twitter and Facebook status updates. I bought my first cellphone when I was 28 years old. I also bought my first house at 28 years old. Twelve years later, I have owned several different cellphones. However, I no longer own a home.

We are victims of buying into the insanity that the people at the top want us to believe. Why does everything in this Country have to revolve around money?

Day after day, week after week, year after year all I see are people drinking bottled water. You mean to tell me that it’s not safe to drink water from the tap? Day after day, week after week, year after year I see the endless crowds of people going to the fast food joint around the corner to buy their meals. What happened to the old concept of “brown bagging” a lunch to work? Day after day, week after week, year after year, I see the insanity played out in the republican party. And, day after day, week after week, year after year, I see people buying into the insanity by substituting fact with their relative opinions. Day after day, week after week, year after year, all I see are kids not getting the basic education they deserve. Many are forced to live in poverty. Many of their parents were sold a bill of goods that says it’s better to dig through other peoples trash for aluminum cans than to receive food stamps from the Government. All the while ignoring the fact that the biggest welfare recipients in this Country are the Fortune 500 companies and war profiteers. This is what we have. This is the shit that we are facing, but hey Apple just created a new iPhone 5 that is super-sleek and it’s 4g, dude. You could check your twitter and facebook mentions in 4 seconds. Yay, America! Way to go.

I served in the military. As great as I feel about that–the military is not for everyone. I had more misery than joy in my years of service. For every one day that I worked on the flight deck of an aircraft carrier I spent three days stripping and waxing passageway floors. Passageway floors that would get stepped on by jet-jockey F-14 pilots. The best thing about my experience was to use it as motivation to get out. As much as they tried to humiliate me–I pushed myself to be better. I pushed myself every day until my enlistment clock ran out. I’ve been out of the military for over twenty-years and I constantly thrive to push myself. In boot camp they taught us that you are only strong as your weakest link. When one person made a mistake we all had to pay for it. I did thousands of push-ups for the “fuck ups”. A few of those times I was the “fuck up”.

Another important lesson I learned was in a marketing class. My professor told the class, “…in marketing, perception is reality and companies spend millions of dollars to shape the perception in their favor for profit”. Captain Obvious says, “D’uh!” right?

I brought up the bottled water example to prove how something that seems so small can have such a powerful impact. People are too vacuous to realize the consequences of their actions. Several hundred miles off the California Coast there are miles, and miles, and miles, and miles, and miles, and miles, and miles off plastic trash spinning in a continuous vortex. It is not safe for marine life. It is not safe for the Earth, and it is definitely not safe for mankind. We are only as strong as our weakest link, and if we continue to let the weakest link run the levers of Government we will be destined to fail. We will be destined to fail.

So, are we there yet?

