Ground Control To Major Tom


The owner of the Los Angeles Clippers goes on a racist rant about his hatred for black people and Americans are outraged. Really? Have we, as a Nation, become sensitive to race? Are we living in a post-racial society that feels the need to remedy his actions by making him sell his NBA team? Is the message we’re sending that we are all better than him? Despite what many Americans might think about California and Los Angeles…this place isn’t as “liberal” as one might assume.

Los Angeles is one of the most racially segregated cities in the Country. Black neighborhoods are black. Hispanic neighborhoods are Hispanic. Armenian neighborhoods are Armenian. Jewish neighborhoods are Jewish. White neighborhoods are white. This is not a fact of happenstance. Also not a certain fact of happenstance is the condition of these neighborhoods. White neighborhoods are always clean and always expensive to live. So, where’s the liberal outrage? The only other city that equals Los Angeles is New York City. There are liberals in New York, as well as many liberals in Los Angeles. There are also conservatives in Los Angeles, as well as New York City. The one thing that liberals in both cities share in common is that they don’t want black people to live in their neighborhoods. In fact, the average white liberal would never entertain the notion of dating a person outside of their race. This isn’t something that is exclusive to whites. Here in California, Mexicans date other Mexicans. Blacks date other blacks. Armenians date other Armenians. Jewish people date other Jewish people.

I’m looking for love. I have scoured the online dating scene, and as a black guy I have a propensity for white women. I can’t begin to tell you the number of white women that feel the need to include in their online dating bio’s, “I DON’T DATE BLACK MEN”. How should the people in this nation deal with this? Should they hold these women accountable for their actions by making them sell their cars, homes and/or businesses?

I don’t think so.

The thing about this whole Donald Sterling rant that really pisses me off is that he was recorded in a private conversation, in his own home, by a person who he lavished with millions of dollars…a person who is half black/half Mexican. What the fuuuuuuuu? As deplorable as what he said, is it any different from what any one of us have said in our homes? You mean to tell me that you didn’t come home from work one day really pissed off about something that happened, and you felt the need to vent to your significant other?

I know it sounds funny, but modern day politics is the same as it was in the sixties and seventies. Blacks are still fighting for equality. Women are still fighting for equality. Gays are still fighting for equality.

The majority of people in this Country, the Country that I love, feel their place slipping. The gap between the middle class and the very wealthy is growing. Instead of being outraged, we become silent and silence leads to bitter anger and resentment. A bitter and angry American can see a Hispanic in the workplace and immediately label them as an illegal. A bitter and Angry American can see a black person walking down the street wearing a hoodie and immediately label them as a thug.

I can’t begin to tell you how many bosses I had that had very racist views. I have heard my former bosses say, “I’m never going to vote for that nigger” when it came to Barack Obama. These words sickened me. These words made me feel a pit in my stomach for a person that I used to hold in high regard. More importantly, it made me question who I was for previously making a good judgement about them. But sadly, that is life. There are racists all around us.

If we truly want to live in a “post-racial society” then we need to drop the many institutional barriers that impede us. However, I don’t think that will ever happen. Americans are cemented in their thinking. The most dangerous American is the one who has achieved a certain level of success. They are dangerous because they forget how many people helped them along their way. They look around their neighborhood, and all they see are faces just like their own. In the end, they attribute their success to everything that they did, ignoring all the hard work from the people who do the work for them. Ignoring all the Government infrastructure available to make it easier fort their customers to access their business. In the end, they are the makers and everyone else is a taker. So sad…so sad.

I guess it’s a good thing that I don’t live on Earth, for I am “…floating round my tin can far above the Moon. Planet Earth is blue And there’s nothing I can do.”

