Knowing When To Stand and Preparing To Fall


We, as humans, are faced with the sometimes daunting task of simple decision making.  The average person makes hundreds of decisions in one single day.  Some are small, inconsequential.  Some have the ability to affect the individual.  Some can affect others, and some can impact the whole World.  Jimi Hendrix made the decision to commit himself to learning to play the guitar, and that he did.  That was a decision that truly changed the World.  At least, it changed me.

I have this dream of becoming the greatest guitar player to have ever lived.  It is not a dream that is out of reality.  It is not a dream out of reality, because I can see myself being interviewed by some elite journalist from “Guitar World”.  And in this interview we’re going over my technique on playing the guitar.  All the whole he is quietly stroking my ego while I’m trying to appear embarrassed–passing my praise off to my heroes like Jimi Hendrix and Jimmy Page.

I can see myself playing to thousands of people.  I can see myself enjoying all the riches that playing guitar can get me, but I can’t convince myself to practice.  Don’t get me wrong, I do practice.  The problem is that I practice the same thing over and over, day after day, and expecting a different result.  According to Einstein, that is the definition of insanity.  But I don’t seem to think so.  I consider that to make me a hopeful optimistic.  I’m patiently waiting for that day when I have that “Eureka” moment.  The day when when the fruits of my labor have grown into something worth it all.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I have countless amounts of people that tell me my playing is good.  However, it doesn’t sound good to my ears.  And I consider my ears to be very important.  I have decided to stand, and I also decided that I refuse to fall.

Being a parent involves making some tough decisions.  I wouldn’t know what it is like to be a parent, since I never had kids.  So, I have to go off of the decisions my parents had to make that involved me and my siblings.  My father didn’t have to do much.  He was never there, but my mother had to find a way to work and raise three kids.  She had to work two or three jobs to provide food on the table, clothing on our backs and a roof over our heads.  I was truly blessed.  I lived in a really good neighborhood.  I had some of the greatest of friends.  I partook in some of the greatest childhood experiences…and I looked into the eyes of the single most beautiful girl in the World.

My mother chose to move us out of a bad neighborhood into a great neighborhood for the sole purpose of her kids to receive the benefits of a good education.  She had complete trust that when her kids went to school our teachers would do their jobs, to the best of their abilities.  She knew that if there was ever a problem she could call the police and they would respond quickly.  The same can be said for the fire department, or the town hall.

However, times are changing…

It seems to me that a swatch of parents find it hard to take responsibility.  If their child fails a class in school it’s somehow the teachers fault.  Instead of assessing the child, of course, it’s the teachers fault because they’re some sort of lazy union thug that only took the job so they can get all the major holidays and the summer off.  On the other hand, these same parents seem to think that all police officers are doing a good job.  And if they happen to be one of the several hundred police officers who stumble upon killing an unarmed person….eh, it was the victims fault.

Which brings me to this past election.  Much has been made about the election being the most exceptional election in modern day history.  I don’t seem to think so.  It was just your average, ordinary election when it comes to the fact that you had someone running as a democrat, and someone, running, to be a republican.  This has been going on for over one hundred years.  A democrat stands for something, the republican stands for the complete opposite, and it just keeps growing from there.  You know, I remember when republicans used to stand for something.  I am also old enough to remember when democrats and republicans used to work together.  A time when common ground wasn’t such a bad thing, but now republicans use their time when they’re not in power to say that nothing can be done because of the yuuuge national debt.  Then, they spend their time in power building a yuuuge national debt.  They go on, and on, about how religious they are.  And about how pro-life they are, but when that child grows up to be gay…they deserve to go to hell.  And that is what God would want for them.

Let’s face it, Donald Trump didn’t win the election.  It just comes down to the fact that Hillary Clinton lost the Electoral College.  It’s sad to me, because I wanted a woman to succeed the first black president–and Hillary would’ve been the best…at least in my opinion. Trump is a real estate guy, so I’ll use a real estate analogy.  Donald Trump was that real estate agent that tried to sell you a piece of shit house and said, “It’s a piece of shit, and I know a piece of shit when I see it, buh-lieve me.  But that piece of shit has the best plumbing in the World.”  Hillary’s problem was that she kept telling the voters, “…but the house is still a piece of shit!”  The liberals can say that her loss was attributed to the Russians, to WikiLeaks, to Comey, her stupid f-ing emails, yadda, yadda, yadda, but she never managed to convince people to buy her magnificent splendor of a house. And she failed in that respect, because her vision was already completed.  I mean, you can’t sell someone on promising to deliver education when a vast majority of people have access to good, decent education.  Democrats have been running on the education platform for over forty years.

They say that Trump won because of all the stupid voters, but his voters aren’t stupid.  They were smart enough to see that he was different.  They were smart enough to see that piece of shit and not question the plumbing.  The only stupid thing about the Trump voter is that they voted for someone who doesn’t stand for anything, and if you vote for someone who doesn’t stand for anything–you will fall for everything.

He promised to “drain the swamp”.  However, going by his cabinet picks, he has managed to fill the swamp with alligators that like to consume their young.  He promises to “Build a wall and have Mexico pay for it.”  He promises to ban Muslims from entering into this Country.  He promises to deport all the “illegals”.  He promises to repeal “Obamacare”.  He promises to stop having black people getting shot and killed in their neighborhoods.  “What have you got  to lose?” We’ll see how that goes.

I’m not one who wishes him well. I have a feeling that I know how things are going to end up.  I have a feeling that Trump is a guy that means what he says, but I question if he’ll do what he says.  That’s not to say he’ll do what he means.  He’ll govern that way, buh-lieve me.  May Jack Daniels bless us all, we’re gonna need it.

